D&D rulings
Jan. 9th, 2005 02:25 pmSo a trio of D&D (3E, not 3.5E) questions came up in last night's session.
1. Can you use Haste to double the effectiveness of Time Stop? I.e. can you Haste yourself, then Time Stop, and get extra partial actions for each round of private time? I ruled no, basing this on the argument that (a) the two spells do the same effect, just one of them more so, so the larger one overrides the smaller, like with two bonuses of different type, and (b) it is like unto following the road of brick that is yellow. They whined.
2. Is a Wish still a one-action casting time if the spell it's being used to duplicate has a longer casting time? I ruled yes based on the fact that its casting time says "1 action" instead of "see below". They were cheered, of course, but dubious.
3. With the "base" behavior of Wish and Miracle, using them to duplicate spell effects, can they duplicate spell effects after modification by feats? The specific use was to use Miracle to call an Energy Substitutioned Chain Lightning (changing electricity to sonic). I ruled yes -- Wish and Miracle are mundane enough as it is. They were enthusiastic.
Anybody think that ruling #1 unfairly penalizes? Anyone think #2 or #3 opens the door to massive abuse?
1. Can you use Haste to double the effectiveness of Time Stop? I.e. can you Haste yourself, then Time Stop, and get extra partial actions for each round of private time? I ruled no, basing this on the argument that (a) the two spells do the same effect, just one of them more so, so the larger one overrides the smaller, like with two bonuses of different type, and (b) it is like unto following the road of brick that is yellow. They whined.
2. Is a Wish still a one-action casting time if the spell it's being used to duplicate has a longer casting time? I ruled yes based on the fact that its casting time says "1 action" instead of "see below". They were cheered, of course, but dubious.
3. With the "base" behavior of Wish and Miracle, using them to duplicate spell effects, can they duplicate spell effects after modification by feats? The specific use was to use Miracle to call an Energy Substitutioned Chain Lightning (changing electricity to sonic). I ruled yes -- Wish and Miracle are mundane enough as it is. They were enthusiastic.
Anybody think that ruling #1 unfairly penalizes? Anyone think #2 or #3 opens the door to massive abuse?